25.7 C
United States of America
Friday, August 6, 2021

Guide to Gluten-Free Diet

Must read

Gluten is a type of protein that is normally present in wheat, rye, and barley. It is actually found in most of our foods like bread, cookies, and even pizza dough for that matter. However, there are some people who often remove gluten from their diet because of their Celiac disease which is a type of auto-immune disease that triggers its own cells to attack itself when there is gluten in their system. Instead of feeling frustrated that you will have to ditch some of your favorite foods, take a look at all the possible foods that you can experiment on. Here is a guide that you can follow if you want to go on a gluten-free diet.

Vegetables. Those leafy greens are actually one of the best foods to start with when you are going to go gluten-free. What you can get from eating vegetables are vitamins, minerals, fiber, and protein just to name a few. The antioxidants present in vegetables can protect you against free radicals while enhancing your immune system to combat various illnesses.

Fish. Fish and other types of seafood are ideal for those who are going gluten-free because they do not contain any gluten but they are high in omega-3 essential fatty acids which can help your organs to function properly. Another plus to eating fish or, other types of seafood for that matter, is that you are also enhancing your cardiovascular system too.

Also Read   Natural Fixes for Tea Stains on Teeth

Quinoa. You can substitute your rice with quinoa which is low in calories, fats, and carbohydrates but high in fiber and complex carbs that will help settle in your stomach for hours while being digested slowly so that you will have a steady supply of energy throughout the day.

Also Read   How To Make Your Pimples Disappear Overnight

Fruits. Don’t forget that fruits are gluten-free which makes them quite safe to eat. What’s great about adding fruits to your diet is that you can eat them as snack, or add them in your salads, or breakfast to get the vitamins and minerals that they contain. Check out what fruits are in season so that you will have more options to consider.

Eggs. Another food that is gluten-free is egg. Eggs contain choline, calcium, and protein which are all essential to one’s overall health. You can cook it whole, scrambled, or even hard-boiled if you like. Having some eggs in the morning can help keep your energy levels steady until your next meal. 

Aside from these foods, if you want to be successful in going gluten-free, you will need to follow these tips: 

Read labels. Celiac disease patients should read labels carefully. This way, you will be able to stay away from products that have gluten.

Know your alcohol. Alcoholic beverages like wine, sherry, port, cider, and liquors are safe to drink. Beer, ales, and stouts, on the other hand, are not.

Experiment. Just because you are going gluten-free it doesn’t mean that your meals should be bland or tasteless. Feel free to experiment with foods that are appropriate for you and see what you can come up with.

Also Read   Slow Down Signs of Aging

Daily Pick